May 12, 2011

We want to ensure that the FAA Reauthorization bill is as beneficial to GA airports as possible.  Attached is a document that compares current law/FAA policy to provisions in the House and Senate FAA Reauthorization bills.  As you know, both the House and Senate have passed their respective FAA Reauthorization bills and must now come together to finalize the measure.  The mechanism for doing so is called a House-Senate conference where Representatives and Senators are chosen to make a final decision on any differences between the two bills.  These individuals are called “conferees.” The Senate has named its conferees, but the House has not.  Senate conferees are: Sens. Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Jim DeMint (R-SC), John Rockefeller (D-WV), Kay Bailey Hutchinson (R-TX), Max Baucus (D-MT), and Orrin Hatch (R-UT).